Introduction of Setiu District Council (Majlis Daerah Setiu), MDS.


Bangunan Majlis Daerah Setiu


Setiu District Council (Majlis Daerah Setiu) is situated in Bandar Permaisuri, Setiu, Terengganu. It's position is about 70 kilometers from Kuala Terengganu town and 40 kilometers from Jerteh. Setiu District Council was established on 1st June 1985 following the State Of Terengganu Government Notice No. 335 dated 6th June 1985. It is the seventh local authority in the state of Terengganu. The area which is under the administration of Setiu District Council is pided into one main town, that is Bandar Permaisuri (District Center) and 8 settlement areas which play an important role in the context of offering goods, services administration to the people covering Pekan Sri Langkap (Sungai Tong), Guntong Luar, Merang, Fikri, Penarik, Chalok, Saujana and Bintang.


The size of the administrative area at that time was 76.69 sq. km. But beginning on 18th July 1996 the whole area in Setiu District has been gazzetted as the area under Setiu District Council as published in the Terengganu State Government Notice No. 907. Thus making the size of Setiu District Council area increased to 1304.36 sq. km (10.07% of the size of Terengganu). (MDS, 2019).